Due forecasted inclement weather, all SCC Lincoln locations will be closed Saturday, Feb. 23, 2019. All classes, activities and services are cancelled.

BOG seeking applications for vacant seat

The Southeast Community College Board of Governors is seeking applications to fill a vacant seat representing District 1.

On May 19 the Board accepted the resignation of Robert J. Feit, who was the member of the Board representing District 1. District 1 is comprised of York, Seward, Fillmore, Saline, Thayer, Jefferson, and Gage counties and a portion of Lancaster County. Feit resigned his position because he will be moving out of that election district.

By statute, it is the responsibility of the remaining members of the Board to fill the vacancy created by Feit’s resignation for the balance of the unexpired term. That term will end on Jan. 4, 2017.

The Board is seeking applications from interested persons. In order to be eligible for appointment to serve as the District 1 representative on the SCC Board of Governors for the balance of the unexpired term, an applicant:

·         must be a registered voter;

·         must have been a resident of SCC District 1 for a period of at least six months prior to being appointed to fill the vacancy and must continue to be a resident of that district following appointment;

·         must not be an elected or appointed member of any other board relating to education; and

·         must not be an employee of SCC.

SCC has three campuses located in Beatrice, Lincoln and Milford and serves a 15-county area in southeast Nebraska. Approximately 11,000 students enroll at SCC each year. The 11-member Board of Governors meets on the third Tuesday of every month with the location of the meetings alternating among the three campuses. Two members are elected from each of the Board’s five districts, while the 11th member is elected at-large. Board members serve four-year terms and do not receive salaries, but their SCC-related expenses are paid.

Persons who wish to apply for this position can click here for additional information, including a map showing the boundaries of District 1. Completed application forms must be submitted to, and received by, current Board Chairperson Kathy Boellstorff by the end of the day on June 30, 2015. Forms may be submitted online, or applicants may print out the form, complete it and mail it to Boellstorff at: 62902 733rd Road, Johnson NE 68378.

Persons with questions related to this process are asked to contact Boellstorff at 402-868-6075.


For more information contact:
Stu Osterthun
Administrative Director of Public Information and Marketing

Vivial Tracking Pixel