Explore Visit Apply Donate

SCC students honored during scholarship ceremony

back row: Kim Whiting, Lydia Clarke, Jeramy Bartels. front row: Mercedes Nelms, Madison Biesecker, Sierra Walling, Dr. Paul Illich.

Six Southeast Community College students were among those honored for their academic achievements, leadership and service during a ceremony Wednesday.

The Phi Theta Kappa All-Nebraska Academic Team honors took place at Embassy Suites in downtown Lincoln. All six of Nebraska’s community colleges participate in PTK activities. Students received $1,000 scholarships from the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.

SCC students include Sierra Walling, Fremont; Mercedes Nelms and Lydia Clarke, Lincoln; Kim Whiting, Gothenburg; Madison Biesecker, Kimball and Jeramy Bartels, Grant.

“Receiving this honor was a testament to all the hard work I put in during my time at SCC,” said Walling, who graduated in 2017 from the Business Administration program. “I went to school full time and worked full time, as well as participated in Student Senate as a senator and later as president. I was able to balance that and maintain a 4.0 grade-point average. This honor is proof I can do anything I set my mind to.”

In order to qualify for the scholarship, students must have at least a 3.5 GPA and be a member of PTK. Two-hundred scholarships are given out each year from the national office of PTK.

Whiting will transfer to Bryan College of Health Sciences to major in Nursing. She said SCC was her home away from home for two years.

“I was blessed to be on a small college campus where everyone knew my name as well as where I came from,” Whiting said. “I was able to be in the learning environments that best suited my learning abilities.”

State Sen. Laura Ebke of Crete was the featured speaker for the event, along with SCC President, Dr. Paul Illich.


For more information contact:
Andrea Gallagher
Marketing Specialist