Outgoing SCC Board members, faculty representative awarded during meeting

Schluckebier, Beltz and Heiden
From left: Lynn Schluckebier, Bill Beltz and Ed Heiden each received service awards Dec. 16 during their final meeting of the SCC Board of Governors.

Two members of Southeast Community College’s Board of Governors, along with the faculty representative, attended their final meeting Tuesday on SCC’s Lincoln Campus.

Lynn Schluckebier of Seward and Ed Heiden of Sterling were presented service awards by Board Chairperson Kathy Boellstorff. Bill Beltz, the SCC faculty representative to the Board, also received an award from Boellstorff.

Schluckebier first was appointed to the Board in June 1995 to fill an unexpired term. He has served as a member of SCC’s Board of Governors ever since. He held an office on the Board each year from 1996 through 2013 and was the Board’s representative to the Nebraska Community College Association since 2004.

“It’s been a lot of fun serving,” said Schluckebier, who decided not to seek another term. “It’s been fun to watch the College grow through the years.”

Heiden first was appointed to the Board in March 1998 to fill an unexpired term. He has served as a member of the Board ever since.

“It’s been great,” said Heiden, who finished third in the May primary election. “I’ve had the privilege to serve with some outstanding fellow Board members. And we’ve had an outstanding administration. I’ve learned a lot, and I’ll miss it.”

Beltz, an instructor in SCC’s Business Administration program on the Milford Campus, said he’s nearing retirement and did not believe he would be at SCC for another two years.

“I decided it was time to let someone else have that seat,” said Beltz, who completed his second stint as faculty representative. He served from January 1997 until December 2006 and again from January 2013 through December 2014.

Pat Galitz, an instructor in the Business Administration program on the Lincoln Campus, will take Beltz’s place in January.

James Garver, who had served on the board from November 2007 through December 2012, returns to the Board in January representing District 4 that is comprised of a portion of Lincoln.

Donald Reiman, who defeated Milan Tomek in November’s general election, will join the Board in January representing District 2 that includes parts of Lancaster County, as well as all of Saunders, Cass, Otoe, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee, and Richardson counties.


For more information contact:
Stu Osterthun
Administrative Director of Public Information and Marketing