SCC seeking to fill vacant District 1 seat on Board

Southeast Community College’s Board of Governors is seeking applications from interested persons to fill a vacant seat on the Board.

The vacant seat represents District 1 in the College's service area and was created when Sandi Hoffman resigned for personal reasons. Hoffman ran unopposed in last year's election and was set to fill the seat vacated by Dr. Dale Kruse, who decided not to run again.

The Board is responsible for appointing a replacement member to complete the unexpired term, which ends on Jan. 7, 2027.

In order to be eligible for appointment to serve as the member representing District 1 on the SCC Board of Governors for the balance of the unexpired term, an applicant:

  • Must be a registered voter in Nebraska;
  • Must be a resident of SCC District 1 and must continue to be a resident of SCC District 1 following appointment;
  • Must have been a resident of SCC's 15-county service area for the prior six months;
  • Must have been a resident of SCC District 1 for the prior six months;
  • Must not be an elected or appointed member of any other board relating to education; and
  • Must not be an employee of Southeast Community College.

Persons who wish to apply for this position should visit for more information and to complete and submit the electronic application form. Applications must be submitted and received by the end of the day on Wednesday, March 1, 2023, to be considered. Applications received after this date will not be considered.

Interviews for candidates who are selected as finalists will be conducted during a special meeting of the Board of Governors on March 21, 2023, at the Academic Excellence Center on SCC's Beatrice Campus located at 4771 W. Scott Road.

Maps showing District 1 boundaries can be found on the Lancaster County Election Commissioner's website.

Persons with questions related to this process may contact Board Chairperson Neal Stenberg at

SCC has campuses located in Beatrice, Lincoln, and Milford, along with six learning centers, and serves a 15-county area in southeast Nebraska. Approximately 10,000 students enroll at SCC each year. The Board of Governors is comprised of 11 members. Two members are elected from each of the Board's five districts, while the 11th member is elected at-large. Board members serve four-year terms and do not receive salaries, but their SCC-related expenses are paid. 

Stu Osterthun
Administrative Director, Marketing & Communications