The purpose of the Medication Aide position is to provide a safe way for individuals other than licensed health care professionals (doctors, nurses, etc.) to provide medications to individuals who are not able to take medications by themselves. Medication Aides assist with the provision of medications. You must be at least 18 years of age or older to be employed as a medication aide in the state of Nebraska.
State laws control the activities of a Medication Aide. These laws ensure the health, safety, and welfare of people by providing for the accurate, cost-effective, efficient, and safe utilization of Medication Aides to assist in administration of medications.
You will be responsible for the additional costs charged by the state of Nebraska to complete your licensure.
SCC Requirement: Medication Aide students MUST be at least 18 by the start date of the class.
Jan. 11-March 3, 2021 (Face-to-Face)
Lab Days: Mon. & Wed.Lab Time: 5:30-9:15 p.m.Location: Southeast Community College, Lincoln Campus, Health Sciences Building, Room 330, 8800 O St.Cost: NE Resident $277.50 / Non-Resident $3302.5 semester creditsCourse Number: HLTH-1040-LN80
Jan. 12-March 4, 2021 (Face-to-Face)
Lab Days: Tues. & Thurs.Lab Time: 1-4:30 p.m.Location: Southeast Community College, Lincoln Campus, Health Sciences Building, Room 330, 8800 O St.Cost: NE Resident $277.50 / Non-Resident $3302.5 semester creditsCourse Number: HLTH-1040-LN81
March 8-May 5, 2021 (Face-to-Face)
Lab Days: Mon. & Wed.Lab Time: 5:30-9 p.m.Location: Southeast Community College, Lincoln Campus, Health Sciences Building, Room 330, 8800 O St.Cost: NE Resident $277.50 / Non-Resident $3302.5 semester creditsCourse Number: HLTH-1040-LN82
March 9-May 6, 2021 (Face-to-Face)
Lab Days: Tues. & Thurs.Lab Time: 1-4:30 p.m.Location: Southeast Community College, Lincoln Campus, Health Sciences Building, Room 330, 8800 O St.Cost: NE Resident $277.50 / Non-Resident $3302.5 semester creditsCourse Number: HLTH-1040-LN83
2021 Summer Medication Aide ClassesCheck back for upcoming schedule.
2021 Fall Medication Aide ClassesCheck back for upcoming schedule.
Students must have their book at the first class session.
The book, NHCA Medication Aide Training Manual, 4th edition, is $51.30, available through the SCC Campus Store.
Book is available at:
Lincoln Campus Store
8800 “O” Street, Lincoln, NE
Beatrice Campus Store
4771 W. Scott Rd., Beatrice, NE
The first session of class is mandatory. Attendance is required in this intensive course. Absences exceeding eight hours for any reason may result in failure of this course. You will be responsible for the additional cost charged by the state of Nebraska to complete your licensure.
NOTE: Medication Aide students MUST be 18 by the start date of the class. You must be 18 years of age or older to be employed as a Medication Aide in the state of Nebraska.
THE STATE IS NO LONGER PROCTORING THE WRITTEN EXAM!!!
Once the class is completed and students have PASSED the course and competency testing through SCC, students will be given two forms:
The student is responsible for submitting the two forms to the state with the state designated fee.
APPLICATION FOR WRITTEN TESTING REGISTRATION
Two post secondary education providers have been approved to proctor the state written examination. Examination applicants need to register for the examinations with one of these providers for testing and pay the required fee. Contact information is as follows:
Nebraska Health Care Learning Center3900 NW 12th St., Ste 100
Lincoln, NE 68521-3037
Nebraska Health Care Learning Center website
Providence Health Career Institute4600 Valley Rd., Ste 401
Lincoln, NE 68510
Providence Health Career Institute website
Registrations are accepted by mail, fax or walk-in. Must make payment at time of registration. Confirmations are not mailed.
If you cannot attend the course section you registered for, please contact Continuing Education right away so that the paperwork can begin and you can be officially dropped from the class. You will be responsible for paying the tuition if you do not drop the course before it starts.
Registration/class availability/dropping a class: Call 402-437-2700.
Q: How do I register for the Medication Aide class?A: See Registration & Records for more information.
Q: What do I do if a third party is paying for me to take the class?A: A letter of authorization on company letterhead must accompany your registration form. This letter must include the individual student’s full name and Social Security number. Please state the amount of money agreed to pay for tuition, fees and book (if applicable).
Q: When does SCC have classes? A: Please see the credit class schedule for the Medication Aide list of classes or log on to SCC’s Website, clicking on Academics, select Healthcare Services program, then Medication Aide.
Q: Does SCC have job placement services?A: SCC’s Placement Center Services has its own Website that links current and former SCC students to employers. Go to: The College Central website. You also may contact any of SCC’s Placement Specialists by phone: Heather Waite, Lincoln Campus, 402-437-2622 or firstname.lastname@example.org; Connie Russell, Beatrice Campus, 402-228-8216 or email@example.com; or Shelly Tolle, Milford Campus, 402-761-8242 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
A: The first class session, please wear street clothes. Subsequent classroom attire will be discussed by the instructor the first day of class.
Q: What books do I need, and will the books be available at the class site?A: Students must have their books at the first class session. Required textbooks are available at the following locations:
Books will not be available at the classroom site. They must be purchased from a campus store listed above.
Q: What is the difference between a Nursing Assistant and a CNA?A: Even though CNA is a commonly used term to refer to Nursing Assistants, the state of Nebraska does not “certify” Nursing Assistants. Your title is “Approved Nursing Assistant.” SCC will report to the state of Nebraska all of the names of students who have successfully completed the College’s Nursing Assistant course.
Q: How do I check my status on the Nebraska Registry?A: Navigate to the Nebraska State Registry website page. Persons also can call 402-471-0537.
Q: How do I reactivate my status on the Registry if it is lapsed?A: See Nebraska Testing Entities List