SCC Celebrates 50 Years

All three campuses of Southeast Community College celebrated 50 years with students, faculty and staff on Tuesday, Dec. 5. The Campus Stores handed out popcorn, soda and stickers and had a historical display with important dates in SCC’s history.

“We celebrate SCC’s 50-year anniversary through our unwavering commitment to the College’s mission to ‘empower and transform the diverse learners and communities of southeast Nebraska.’ SCC has a long history of strengthening the communities we serve by producing a skilled workforce and ensuring everyone within our service area has access to the life-changing benefits of higher education.” said Dr. Paul Illich, SCC president.

The Southeast Community College system was established on July 1, 1973 when a statewide community college system was implemented by the Nebraska Legislature. SCC serves a 15-county region and was comprised of merging Nebraska Technical College in Milford and Fairbury Junior College. Dr. Robert Eicher was named president of the newly formed college.

Key dates in the College’s history include:

  • 1975: SCC acquires the John J. Pershing College in Beatrice and begins remodeling the campus.
  • 1979: The first building on the Lincoln Campus at 8800 O St. is built.
  • 1983: SCC is accredited as a single entity by the Higher Learning Commission.
  • 1986: SCC merges the Fairbury and Beatrice campuses; the Fairbury campus is closed.
  • 1994: SCC purchases the ground floor of Energy Square at 1111 O St. in downtown Lincoln.
  • 2006: SCC purchases the Entrepreneurship Center at 285 S. 68th Place n Lincoln.
  • 2014: Dr. Paul Illich is named SCC’s fourth president.
  • 2015: The College completes its 2015-2019 Strategic Plan.
  • 2019: The College begins a semester academic calendar, transitioning from quarters.
  • 2020: The Health Sciences Building opens on the Lincoln Campus; the Academic Excellence Building opens on the Beatrice Campus; and the Crete Carrier Diesel Technology & Welding Center opens on the Milford Campus.
  • 2023: HLC reaffirms SCC’s accreditation for another 10 years.

SCC serves a 15-county region with campuses in Beatrice, Lincoln and Milford, as well as Learning Centers in Falls City, Hebron, Nebraska City, Plattsmouth, Wahoo, and York. The College offers more than 80 career/technical and academic transfer programs, as well as education opportunities for lifelong learners, professional development, dual-credit for high school students, and GED/ESL classes. SCC is governed by an 11-member Board of Governors and is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.

Jennifer Snyder
Communications Specialist