COVID-19: All SCC facilities are closed to students and the public, and credit classes are being taught in an online format. All face-to-face Continuing Education and non-credit classes are cancelled through June 30. Some virtual learning opportunities are available. SCC update page.
  • Stan Peters.
    Faculty Spotlight - Stan Peters
    I have always been student-focused in my teaching strategies.
    More About Stan
    Business Student.
    Flexible - Schedule
    Choose electives from a broad array of business classes.
    Placement
    Business Student.
    93% Graduate
    Choose electives from a broad array of business classes.
    Placement
    Practice Interview.
    93% Graduate
    Choose electives from a broad array of business classes.
    Placement
     

Business

  •  Estimated Cost: $9,780

    Program Length: 4 semesters

    Locations: Beatrice / Lincoln / Milford / Online

    Start Term(s): Fall / Spring / Summer

    Awards Offered: AA / AAS / Cert / Dip

    Program Description

    We can prepare you to solve real world business problems with a degree from our Business program. One of the most versatile degrees offered at Southeast Community College, you will be able to choose your career path whether it be moving up the corporate ladder, starting your own business or completing your bachelor’s degree at a four-year college or university.

    This flexible program allows you to take classes either full time or part time as well as in a traditional classroom or online – you choose the right option for you.

    2 + 2 Degree Option

    Earning your Associate of Arts degree in Business from SCC gives you an affordable path to complete your bachelor’s degree. This degree option prepares you to transfer to a four-year university or college by teaching you basic business skills in accounting and economics. We partner with local colleges and universities including:

    • University of Nebraska–Lincoln
    • University of Nebraska at Omaha
    • Nebraska Wesleyan University
    • Doane University-Lincoln
    • Peru State College
    • Bellevue University

    Entrepreneurship Center

    If you see yourself starting your own business, you have access to the SCC Entrepreneurship Center in Lincoln. The Center is a full-service resource hub for entrepreneurs in all stages of business development. The Nebraska Business Development Center and other resource organizations are located in the Center.

    View your calendar conversion plan.

    You can start the Business program in the Fall, Spring or Summer terms. Follow these steps to finish your application:

    1. Complete an application for admission.
    2. Submit official high school transcripts, GED® scores, and/or other college transcripts.
    3. Check with an advisor to determine if you need to take the COMPASS assessment test. This requirement may be waived if you have a sufficiently high and recent ACT scores or have successfully completed necessary college-level prerequisite courses.
    4. You will need to validate previous accounting work experience or course work in accounting from your high school and/or college transcripts.
    5. You will need to demonstrate keyboarding skills of at least 30 words per minute minimum with three or fewer errors.
    6. If you cannot validate competencies in accounting and keyboarding, you may take courses in those areas at SCC. Credits earned in Office Accounting (AFFT-1310), Keyboarding I (OFFT-1010) and Keyboarding II (OFFT-1020) will not count toward your degree.
    7. You must complete the regular SCC admission requirements and prerequisite courses with a grade of “C” or higher to continue in the Business program.

    You are able to choose a career which emphasizes your strengths in the business world. Recent SCC graduates report an average starting salary of $16.15 per hour. Career options include:

    • Accounting Associate
    • Administrative Coordinator
    • Benefit Specialist
    • Billing Coordinator
    • Business Manager
    • Director of Merchandising
    • Donor Relations Representative
    • Human Resource Specialist
    • Legislative Aide
    • Logistics Associate
    • Marketing Officer
    • Payroll/Accounting Clerk
    • Property Manager
    • Teller
    • Underwriting Assistant

    SCC’s Business program is accredited by:

    Accreditation Council for Business Schools & Programs

    11520 W 119 St.
    Overland Park, KS 66213
    913-339-9356

    The SCC Business program was reaffirmed in 2013 for 10 years.

    SCC is a State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement Institution. As a State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement Institution, we are unable to offer online or distance courses to students in the following states/areas: California and the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands.

    Beatrice Campus

    Eric Ayite, Instructor
    402-228-8281
    mayite@southeast.edu

    Kim Day, Program Director
    800-233-5027, ext. 1332
    kday@southeast.edu

    Vicki Wooton, Instructor
    800-233-5027, ext. 1282
    vwooton@southeast.edu

    Lincoln Campus

    Scot Baillie, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 2523
    sbaillie@southeast.edu

    Tracy Corr, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 2864
    tcorr@southeast.edu

    Beth Deinert, Program Co-Director
    800-642-4075, ext. 2866
    bdeinert@southeast.edu

    Sanela Ganic, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 2810
    sganic@southeast.edu

    Terri Gardner, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 2696
    tgardner@southeast.edu

    Lisa Harris, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 2420
    lharris@southeast.edu

    Linda Hartman, Program Co-Director
    800-642-4075, ext. 2433
    lhartman@southeast.edu

    Teresa Hruza, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 8234
    thruza@southeast.edu

    Rick Kohn, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 2422
    rkohn@southeast.edu

    Rose Kowalski, Instructor
    308-750-2807
    rpollard@southeast.edu

    Bonnie Malcolm, Instructor
    402-437-2427
    bmalcolm@southeast.edu

    Susan Pallas-Duncan, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 2417
    spallas@southeast.edu

    Janet Scott, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 2874
    jscott@southeast.edu

    Warren Wilson, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 2416
    wwilson@southeast.edu

    Education Square Location

    Krystal Gabel, Instructor
    800-642-4075, ext. 3465
    kgabel@southeast.edu

     

    Entrepreneurship Center Location

    Steven Bors
    800-642-4075, ext. 2524
    sbors@southeast.edu

     

    Milford Campus

    Richard Christensen, Instructor
    800-933-7223, ext. 8228
    rchristensen@southeast.edu

    Tammie Lang, Program Director
    800-933-7223, ext. 8465
    tlang@southeast.edu

    Tim Mittan, Instructor
    800-933-7223, ext. 8237
    tmittan@southeast.edu

    Chelsea Hood Reese, Instructor
    800-933-7223, ext. 8365
    creese@southeast.edu

    Career Academy

    David Borcherding, Instructor
    402-325-4724
    dborcherding@southeast.edu

    Kathy Reiter, Instructor
    402-325-4700
    kreiter@southeast.edu

    Loading...
    Loading...
    Loading...
    Loading...
     

    Grads staying in Nebraska

    Average Starting Salary

    2018 Graduates